OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSIO

REVENUE IMPACT STATEMENT AND/OR ADMINISTRATIVE IMPACT STATEMENT
SECOND REGULAR SESSION, FIFTY-EIGHTH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE

DATE OF IMPACT STATEMENT: March 15,2021

BILL NUMBER: HB 2744 STATUS AND DATE OF BILL: Engrossed 03/03/2021
AUTHORS: House Ford & Waldron Senate Pemberton

TAX TYPE (S): Sales Tax SUBJECT: Administration

PROPOSAL: New Law

The measure requires vendors subject to the Oklahoma sales tax code to apply for and obtain an
annual “resale permit™' in order to claim a sale for resale exemption. The measure also allows for an
appeal process for a denied applicant and sets fines for anyone claiming a sale for resale without a
permit(s) or after a permit has been suspended?.

The measure also requires vendors to use a system upon development by the Tax Commission
(*OTC”) for the purpose of exchanging information with sellers regarding sale for resale permit
numbers of purchasers who are seeking to make purchases for resale. It also requires the OTC to
provide sellers, free of charge, verification of whether sale for resale permits are valid. The OTC
must also provide the seller a transaction code authorizing the seller to sell items purchased for resale
to purchasers who hold a valid sale for resale permit. Additionally it authorizes the OTC to release
information contained in the Master Sales and Use Tax File to vendors for the purpose of

determining the validity of sale for resale permits>.
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2022

REVENUE IMPACT:
Insert dollar amount (plus or minus) of the expected change in state revenues due to this
proposed legislation.

FY 22: None
FY 23: [See Attached]

ADMINISTRATIVE IMPACT:
Insert the estimated cost or savings to the Tax Commission due to this proposed legislation.

FY 22: [See attached]
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The revenue impact provided herein is an estimate of the potential impact on the collection or
apportionment of tax revenues affected by the proposed legislation. It is not intended to be an
estimate of the overall fiscal impact on the state budget if the proposed legislation is enacted,

' Atno charge and such a resale permit will have an expiration date at 11:59 P.M. on the next June 30" following the effective date of
issuance.

2 A misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000) for the first offense. Anyone found guilty
under a second offense will be charged with a felony and a fine of not more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000) or by a term of
imprisonment in the State Penitentiary for not more than two (2) years, or both such fine and imprisonment,

¥ Such information includes permit number(s), name in which the permit is issued, name of the business operation if different from
ownership (DBA), mailing address, business address, North American Industry Classification System (NAICS classification), and the
effective date of issuance or cancellation of a permit
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The measure requires vendors subject to the Oklahoma sales tax code to apply for and obtain an
annual “resale permit™ in order to claim a sale for resale exemption. The measure also allows for
an appeal process for a denied applicant and sets fines for anyone claiming a sale for resale without a

permit(s) or after a permit has been suspended?.

The measure also requires vendors to use a system upon development by the Tax Commission
(“OTC”) for the purpose of exchanging information with sellers regarding sale for resale permit
numbers of purchasers who are seeking to make purchases for resale. It also requires the OTC to
provide sellers, free of charge, verification of whether sale for resale permits are valid. The OTC
must also provide the seller a transaction code authorizing the seller to sell items purchased for resale
to purchasers who hold a valid sale for resale permit. Additionally it authorizes the OTC to release
information contained in the Master Sales and Use Tax File to vendors for the purpose of
determining the validity of sale for resale permits®.

Revenue Impact

An unknown increase in state sales tax revenues is estimated in excess of additional costs incurred.

Administrative Costs and Concerns

The measure will result in an increase of $100,000 in administrative costs for new personnel,

equipment, supplies, and system programing along with a minimum of three months after enactment
in which to implement this measure.

* At no charge and such a resale permit will have an expiration date at 11:59 P.M. on the next June 30" following the effective date of issuance.

’ A misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than One Thousand Dollars (81,000) for the first offense. Anyone found guilty under a second offense
will be charged with a felony and a fine of not more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000) or by a term of imprisonment in the State Penitentiary for not
more than two (2) years, or both such fine and imprisonment.

¢ Such information includes permit number(s), name in which the permit is issued, name of the business operation if different from
ownership (DBA), mailing address, business address, North American Industry Classification System (NAICS classification), and the
effective date of issuance or cancellation of a permit



